Authentic Dressing

13 Mar

I attended an event organised by the Association of Image Consultants International (AICI) Singapore chapter recently where Sue Donnelly conducted a 1.5days session on Authentic Dressing.

Sue herself was such an inspiration.  As a Certified Image Professional (CIP), she has been true to herself, dressed authentically to reflect her true personality.  Just look at her glasses and that pair of trouser!  She believes that being authentic in every aspect of your life is the key to success.

Image

Picture with Sue Donnelly (left)

It often seems a lot harder to dress authentically as we all have a job to keep and people we want to impress.  Hence, sometimes we may even have to ask ourselves if we are in the right job or industry?  How could we dread what we wear every single day?!

On the Sunday after the session, I decided I was going to wear what my “right brain” tells me to wear instead of using the logic and all that coordination guidelines that I have mastered as a CIP myself.

Usually, I would have coordinated this simple asymmetrical top with either black or beige coloured pair of trouser.  But, on this day, I pulled out my orange coloured jeans and wore it with my hardly-worn tangerine, leopard printed wedge heels!  I thought it was a breath of fresh air and I felt so liberated!

IMG_1282

IMG_1285

How about you?  Do you feel trapped in your clothes?  As Sue said, it is time that we put the “I” into your image.  Share your thoughts!  🙂

2 Responses to “Authentic Dressing”

  1. malaika March 13, 2013 at 2:33 pm #

    That’s great, Lily! “Be yourself, everyone else is taken.” – Oscar Wilde
    As interior designers, we’re always about making the space reflect your personality/identity. We love a refreshing change. =)

    • Lily Koh March 13, 2013 at 4:38 pm #

      Thanks Malaika! I am sure this is so applicable for interior designers. We don’t want to live in a home that is meant for somebody else!

Leave a comment